Sunday, August 26, 2012

The Things Children Do:

So this past weekend was full of me losing my mind and losing control over my children. Now I know having two is very trying on a parent but this passed weekend was horrible.

Saturday:
Saturday morning started off alright. We got up nice and early to go shopping at garage sales for toddler beds(which I found, yay!). After shopping we went to Cracker Barrel and enjoyed a nice late breakfast. Went back home for nap and a little bit of play time, this is where it all turned south. After naps we played, as usual, and then started getting ready for dinner and baths. It was already late in the evening but that's nothing unusual for us. Lately Thing 2 has been wanting to play with my very expensive smart phone. Knowing this I put it up on top of the tv where he couldn't reach it along with my keys. So I thought. Man was I wrong. As I am picking up the room and getting Thing 1 tended to, Thing 2 pulled out the drawers, climbed up the drawers to the top of the tv, and proceeded to take my phone and keys. I noticed this a little late. He decided to give my phone a bath. This phone is at the moment still not working. :(  I go to get diapers and soon realize that the keys are missing also. I turn the whole room upside down looking in every nook and cranny. I soon figured out that they were flushed down the super toilet. I thought I was losing my mind before, boy was I wrong!

Thanks to my mom and best friend, mostly my best friend, I was smiling a little by the end of the night.

Sunday:
Did you know that locksmiths are cranky when you call them on a Sunday? Neither did I but I definetly found out. All morning and afternoon I called around looking for someone affordable and available to open the borrowed vehicle. Yes, borrowed. Due to the need to go furniture shopping, I borrowed my dads van, which doesnt have a spare key. So 7 hours later my mom came to my rescue. The angry locksmith made a new key and we were good to go. During the 7 hours my children managed to run naked around our hotel. Let me tell you this, when I am on the phone to my new landlord and I hear a door open, you tend to drop the phone and start running. I must have chased naked children for about 20 minutes. I get back to my room and my landlord is still on the line! Hes a sweetheart. I told him what had happened and he is cracking up. Down right laughing at me. I dont blame him one bit though. I would be laughing also. In fact, that is what got me to laugh about the subject. I was also reassured by my grumpy locksmith that he gets a call about once a week with someone saying their kid flushed the keys down the toilet.

I guess I'm not the only parent out there pulling their hair and wondering how they are going to live through having children. I just hope that they also have wonderful friends that keep them intact when these incidents do happen. So for now I hope this is as crazy as it gets around here, but I have a feeling it isnt.

The Insane Single Mommy

Friday, August 24, 2012

Happy Birthday to Thing 1 and Thing 2:

Yesterday was the twins birthday. It didn't go at all like I had planned. We spent the day down at the government building with both screaming and throwing themselves on the floor. Talk about wanting to pull my hair out!

There was this older woman and all she had to do was say hi to them and they straighten up. Thing 2 even crawled right in her lap and nestled his head into her boobs! Seriously what is up with that? I cannot believe it. I mean, hello, I have boobs too. Whats wrong with snuggling into mommy?

After all that mess, I was literally so angry (not because of the kids, well that added some irritation since the screaming was for two hours) that I was a little irate to my mom. I love her to death but when I need to vent, she is not the one to talk to. So I called Captain America and he calmed me down after I told him, in a slightly louder voice then usual, the events of the day. There are only two people in the world that will let me scream, holler, or cry until I have everything out(whether they understand what I'm saying or not) and then ask me one more time to explain again. I will tell you this, nothing is better then talking to the closest people in your life. No matter what, they understand and even though they don't agree, there's no judgement.

So after all the craziness that went on, we finally had a birthday party. It might have been one day late but it was nice. A beautiful cake, a good dinner, and some family makes for a great time for the minions.

Tomorrow we go garage saling to make our move into the new apartment. Wish us luck as I forgot the wonderful leashes at grandpas house.

Till next time,
The Insane Single Mommy

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Psalm 127:3-5
3. Lo, children are an heritage to the Lord: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.
4. As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are the children of the youth.
5. Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with enemies in the gate.

So after my rant I felt a little better. I get caught up in trying to do everything myself. I know very well that I cannot do this and need help and guidance. I am learning to do ask for help more but it is something that is very hard to do. As I was looking up some stuff on google, these verses popped up in a site and it spoke to me. Thought Id share it with y'all too.

The ISM

A Slight Rant:

Okay, first and foremost I have to say that I love my children very much. I am very blessed to have them everyday and most single parents cannot say that.

Now that I have said that, I am going to rant about children, and no there is no raving going along with that. I don't understand how my children can behave for most of the time and then enter a building and become hellions. I want to scream at the top of my lungs just to let out some frustration! I cannot fathom why my children must beat, bite, and throw tantrums every time we walk into the government building. I understand that it is not the best place for a child, but why do they need to show that to everyone else there? They have been super destructive lately and I am seriously contemplating straight jackets. (For them not me)

Thing 2 is being very clingy and not letting Thing 1 have any attention. He is a little bigger then his older sister and definetly reminds her of it every second he can. I cannot handle all of this fighting! Is it horrible to say that I have many times contemplated throwing my own tantrum in the middle of the store just to see if they get embarrassed? 

No I am not PMSing, I am quite frankly tired of all the bickering and fighting that these two are doing. I understand that it comes with children and I can handle it at home...just not so much in public. If we are out and about it is because there is an errand to do. I don't have time to chase two disobeying children or separate every five seconds a brawling duo.

This is one frustrated mama. My children know that there's not much I can in the department of discipline while we are out. And I believe this is the reason for their behavior. I need a system of being able to do this is public. Seriously we are not in the day and age where spanking is allowed in public, there's no way of giving a "time out", so what are my options? If we are doing something fun, such as a park, and they misbehave, they are given a warning. That warning is if they don't cut it out, we are going home. Yes the last three days of going to the park, I have had to implement that punishment.

So now I feel like I'm the mean terrible mommy and my children are out of the 1990's movies problem child. I hope this phase will change and change soon because I cannot imagine how much longer some of us will survive this.

The Insane Single Mommy


Monday, August 20, 2012

Insane Monday:

So today my minions and I were extremely busy looking at apartments. It started bright and early with having to feed and clothe everyone by 9am. Most would think that is an easy task, but when you are dealing with my two its definetly the opposite. Apartments one and two were okay, three and four were marked off my list and well five I had to cancel.

 Now the reason I had to cancel was to get an extension on our living arrangements. One thing about this great state of New York, everything has a form. Every form is a little booklet in which you must fill out completely, wait in line to turn it in, and then wait for ever in a crowded lobby with no place to sit with two toddlers that need a nap. This is where this mommy lost it.

When I take my children to a place where it is crowded or they need to walk, I put them on leashes. Yes, yes I know leashes. Im such a horrible mom. But let me explain this to you, I am only one person. When there are two running toddlers and one mommy to chase them, the leashes come in handy. Its for safety. I do not want my child being hit by a car or taken by a stranger because I am not able to hang on to them every second.

Now we are in this crowded building and Thing 1 decides he wants to roll around on the dirty floor! One thing about twins, if one twin is doing it the other has to duplicate and join in the fun. This is where I, cough,  calmly tell my children to stand and behave. Does this happen? Of course not. So i am now holding two heavy little angles that are fussy and screaming to be put down, only to be trampled on. Forty-five minutes later we are called up to a window to talk to a worker. At this point I swear I have chunks of hair missing from where I was pulling on to keep what little patience I had left (now during that forty-five minutes I must admit I offered to sell, give away, and or barter my children half a dozen times. Yes, everyone thinks it is funny but in all truth I was ready to follow through this time. Funny how no one wants to take me up on that offer. I mean, I do have a spare) so back to the window. As I am standing there finishing off my forms and talking to the lady helping me, my wonderful children decide to clothes line this poor helpless young kid who cant be more then 21. Now I am apologizing to this kid and trying to help him up as I feel horrible(trying desperately not to laugh). I might not have been the one to do it but I am still responsible blah blah blah. I look over and only to see my children are laughing! Sitting on their butts laughing. I cant tell you how proud I was at that moment and well somewhat embarrassed. I had to be, right? Okay, so my sarcasm isn't always popping up at the right moment and I know I shouldn't laugh either, but you got to admit that's funny. Because of this incident we were rushed through our process and out the door we went.  And see it all came from leashes.

My children, even though driving me til the end of my rope, always manage in someway to make me smile. Ugh there is a reason why children are cute. They would never make it to kindergarten any other way.

So now my challenge is to deal with two toddlers that have missed their nap and hope I make it to bed time. This mommy needs a coffee break. Maybe wonder woman from my group of incredibles will be able to do a long distance coffee date.

The Insane Single Mommy

Sunday, August 19, 2012

A little introduction about my little family and I.

I am a single mom, a massage therapist (no, I do not do happy endings), and I am completely losing my mind. Did I mention that I'm a single mom of twins? Yep, that's right. I saw that two for one special and thought it was a phenomenal deal. Wow, let me tell you this, for all those out there think that having one kid is crazy, try two. Oh and I mean at the same time. I give so much credit to all the other mommies out there that have had multiples, WE ARE AWESOME!

My children, whom I will call Thing 1 and Thing 2, are soon to be turning 2 in a couple days. Yes, I know the whole "terrible 2s" ordeal everyone has been warning me about are going to happen starting the 23rd. Let me give you a little hint, it started when they were conceived. Thing 1 is a beautiful peanut of a girl, while Thing 2 is a handsome dare devil of a boy. Their mission in life..to put mommy in a nut house before they turn 18.


A little overview of the last two years to put you up to speed with us.

When I say adventure, I mean adventure. My twin minions arrived 5 weeks early, Thing 1 took 6 weeks to come home while Thing 2 took 3 weeks. I should have known then that Thing 1 has her own timing for EVERYTHING. When the cute little bundles came home it was something that I had never been able to prepare for. I had even nannied twins from infancy and let me tell you this, when you are a parent 24/7 nothing else compares. 
I have a hand full of friends of whom I will refer to as The Incredibles. If not for them, I do believe that I would have been instituted.
In the last two years we have moved about 6 times. Or at least it has felt like that. I absolutely HATE moving. And as of a week ago, I left my home in hopes of setting a better future for my little family in the great state of New York. For those of you not affiliated with New York, Upstate is absolutely gorgeous and mind numbing.

So from here on out, this is where our adventure picks up. Hope you all enjoy this as much as I will,
The Insane Single Mommy